and Rounds

Check out the Fall
2014 APAHC Newsletter!


Mentorship/consultation for Early to Late
Career Members

Join APAHC Now!
2016 Dues are now being accepted

Join or Renew!


APAHC has published a Primer for Career Development. It is available to members free of charge and to non-members for a nominal fee. Click the appropriate button above.

Journal of Clinical Psychology in Medical Settings

Jornal of Clinical Psychology in Medical Settings

Highlights of Past APAHC Conferences!

Click the year for which you want to see highlights: 2009 ; 2011 ; 2013 ; 2015

Welcome From the APAHC President


Welcome to the website of the Association of Psychologists in Academic Health Centers (APAHC). APAHC is the voice of psychology in medical schools and other professional schools in academic health centers, and teaching hospitals. Thank you for your interest

To learn more about us, download the
History of the Association >>Here<<

“Reproduced with permission of the publisher.”

Catherine Schuman, PhD


2016 APA Presidential Citation

Barbara Cubic, PhD, ABPP

In recognition for leading the charge to integrate psychology into primary care medicine and beyond.

Recognized as a trail blazer in integrated primary care, Dr. Barbara Cubic has been a central force in training psychologists to serve as clinicians, faculty, researchers and leaders in primary care settings. Via multiple training programs at Eastern Virginia Medical School, Dr. Cubic has mentored countless professionals in integrated primary care.  She wrote one of the first HRSA Graduate Psychology Education grants and continues to successfully obtain critical training funding.  Her leadership roles have included President of the APAHC, Treasurer for the Society of Clinical Psychology, and Member-at-Large for the Council of Health Psychology Training Programs.    In 2010, she was awarded the PSYCHE Prize by the American Psychological Foundation and, in 2014, she received the Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Health Psychology Award from the Society of Health Psychology (APA Division 38).  Dr. Cubic exemplifies integrated care in her collaborative approach to finding healthcare solutions. 


Congratulations to APAHC Member
Danny Wedding

The American Psychological Association's Board of Educational Affairs selected Danny Wedding, PhD, MPH as the receipient of the 2015 BEA Award for Outstanding contributions to continuing professional development in psychology.


Congratulations to APAHC Member
Sharon Berry

Dr. Berry was recently awarded the Political Advocacy Champion award from the APA Practice Organization

APA Elects APAHC Member Susan H. McDaniel

2016 President

McDanielFrom the press Release — Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, distinguished professor and director of the Institute for the Family in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Rochester, has been elected 2016 president of the American Psychological Association. She will serve as APA’s president-elect in 2015.

McDaniel is also associate chair of the Department of Family Medicine and director of the Patient- and Family-Centered Care Coaching Program at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

During her presidency, McDaniel is expected to focus on the integration of psychology into comprehensive health care and how best to prepare psychologists as leaders in team science, inter-professional practice, interdisciplinary education and advocacy to increase diversity and reduce health disparities.

Congratulations to John Linton !!!
associate vice president for health sciences and campus dean of the School of Medicine, West Virginia University

John LintonFrom the Press Release:

Since early this year, he has been serving with great distinction in these interim positions, and has shown the sort of leadership and dedication that his department, the School of Medicine, and the Charleston Division have learned to expect from him in his many decades of clinical, educational and administrative work at WVU.

“John Linton was the obvious choice for this position, and for more reasons than one,” said Arthur J. Ross, III, MD, MBA, dean of the WVU School of Medicine. “His years of service with the organization, his dedication to faculty and students in the Charleston division and his gift for connecting those relationships among our three campuses made him the best candidate.”

Dr. Linton is also well positioned to advance our relationship with our partners at Charleston Area Medical Center. Sharon Hall, the president, CAMC Health Education and Research Institute, said, “Dr. Linton is not only recognized nationally as a leader in psychology education, he’s universally respected as a leader on the Charleston campus and throughout CAMC.  On behalf of CAMC, we are excited about his appointment and I am personally looking forward to working with John in his new role.”    


2015 Awards >>Go to Awards Page<<

Here are the 2015 APAHC Award Winners:

Richard Handel, PhD, East Virginia Medical School

William Robiner, PhD, ABPP, University of Minnesota Medical School