10 Years of APAHC Awards


































































































































































































Steven Tovian elected to the Commission for the Recognition of Specialties and Proficiencies in Professional Psychology CRSPPP) 2014-2016

Steve Tovian

CRISP is part of APA and it facilitates the development, implementation and review of policies and procedures to improve quality and process in recognition of specialties and proficiencies in professional psychology

APAHC at APA 2014

Psychological Testing in the Era of Healthcare Reform: Past, Present and Future

Presenter:  Robert P. Archer, PhD, ABPP,  Frank Harrell Redwood Distinguished Professor and Director of Psychology, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Eastern Virginia Medical School


Awarding of the 2014 Bud Orgel Award for Distinguished Achievement in Research:  
Mary Fristad, PhD, ABPP

A Moment of Truth: Will Psychology Be at the Margin or the Epicenter of Health Care Transformation?

Presenter:  Darrell G. Kirch, M.D.President and CEO of the Association of American Medical Colleges


Awarding of the 2014 Matarrazo Lifetime Achievement Award:  Edward R. Christophersen, PhD, ABPP


APA President and APAHC Member Nadine Kaslow Presents an APA Presidential Citation to APAHC Member
Zeeshan Butt, PhD

Dr. Kaslow awarded the APA Presidential Citation for his scholarly contributions related to clinical health psychology and his remarkable ability to foster professional engagement and career development among early career health psychologists.  Academically productive and clinically gifted, he has made significant advances in the development and application of patient reported outcomes in the post-surgical context, particularly for individuals following organ donation and transplantation.

Congratulations to
Edward Christophersen, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Christophersen, Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Missouri-Kansas was awarded the:

Society of Pediatric Psychology Award for Outstanding Mentorship in Pediatric Psychology.




APAHC at APA 2013

PanelWorking LunchAPAHC


APAHC Award Winners: John Linton and Barry Hong


Named to PCORI Advisory Panel on Disparities

Alfiee M. Breeland-Noble, MHSc, PhD. Georgetown University Medical Center.

Dr. Brelan-Noble is Director of The AAKOMA (African American Knowledge Optimized for Mindfully-Healthy Adolescents) Project. She is a child and adolescent psychologist and a researcher in academic medicine who has been a federally-funded investigator for over 10 years. Her research interests include reducing mental health disparities for African-American and diverse adolescents; treatment engagement for depression in diverse adolescents; and Community Based Participatory Research with a specific focus on on faith based health promotion and mindfulness in diverse parenting contexts.



elected president-elect of apahc 2014-2017

Catherine Schuman, Ph.D. Cambridge Health Alliance, Harvard Medical School

Dr. Schuman is an Assistant Professor & Director of Behavioral Medicine and Behavioral Medicine Training in the Department of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.


Nadine Kaslow, a longtime member of APAHC was elected the 2013 APA President Elect and 2014 APA President.

Since 2006, four out of the eight most recent APA presidents have been members of APAHC (formerly AMSP - The Association of Medical School Psychologists): Gerry Koocher-2006, James Bray-2009 and Suzanne Bennett-Johnson-2012. Other APAHC members, such as Joe Matarazzo have also served as APA President. That is a lot of psychological leadership emanating from a small but significant group & reflects the importance of  APAHC to not just medical schools & AHCs, but also to the profession.

Bill Robiner, Past President of APAHC Awarded the 2012 A.M. Wellner, PhD Distinguished Career Award by the National Register!

Bill Robiner

This award is named in honor of the National Register's first Executive Officer, Alfred M. Wellner, Ph.D. This is the highest honor bestowed on a Registrant by the National Register to commemorate numerous and significant contributions to psychology during a distinguished career.

Barry Hong, Past president of APAHC recieved a 2012 APA presidential Citation from APA President Suzanne Bennett Johnson!


The Citation recognizes "Dr. Hong's extraordinary leadership and contributions to the advancment of psychology in acdemic health centers and to medical education." Since 2008 Dr. Hong has represented medical school clinical faculty on the 5th comprehensive review of the MCAT. Dr. Hong has been an effective advocate for psychological science as an essential component in the preparation of physicians.

2012 APAHC Awards Presented at the
2012 APA Conference

Ivan Mensh Award for Teaching

John Linton, West Virginia University School of Medicine

Joseph D. Matarazzo Award
for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in Academic Health Centers

Robert P. Archer, Eastern Virginia Medical School

APAHC Workgroups, Meetings, Presentations

2011 award winners Presentations

John Robinson
Dorothy Hatsukami
Richard Seime